April 15 playlist – new Merle Haggard

Well, we tried something different last night.  Amanda picked up a cord that allows music files to be played on-air directly from her computer.  That means we can play vinyl, CD’s, and music files straight from a computer.  However, the big news of the evening was the new Merle Haggard CD, I Am What I Am.  We played several cuts.  It was hard to choose because the whole CD is great.  Very classic Merle, and at 72 years old, he sounds great, as great as he’s ever sounded.  The CD is scheduled for release next Tuesday, April 20.  Make sure you pick up a copy.  For now, here is the playlist and some youtube clips.

We also played an unreleased cut from Jones Family Fortune featuring Zoe Muth on vocals.  Look for more from both Jones Family Fortune and Ian Jones as they are working on recording new albums.  And as usual, it was great catching up with Dr. BLT who called in from Bakersfield.  Thanks again, Bruce!

Thanks for listening!

Artist Cut Album Label
Tim Hus Bakersfield Music Bushpilot Buckaroo Stony Plain Records
Ian Jones She’s Gone Demo Thin Silver Records
Beat Farmers Beat Generation Tales of the New West Rhino Entertainment
Dave Alvin Somewhere in Time ashgrove YepRoc
Chris Gaffney Help You Dream Loser’s Paradise High Tone
Dr BLT What was I drinking Self Self Produced
Dave Gleason Pullin’ Up the Tracks Just Fall to Pieces Well Worn Records
Red Meat Deep Water 13 Ranchero Records
Merle Haggard I’ve Seen It Go Away I Am What I Am Vanguard
Merle Haggard Pretty When It’s New I Am What I Am Vanguard
The Knitters Silver Wings Poor Little Critter on the Road Slash
Iris DeMent Big City Tulare Dust: A Songwriter’s Tribute to Merle Haggard Hightone Records
Fat Kat and the Von Zippers Lizzy That Bakerbilly Sound Fattkat Music
Rosie Flores Girl of the Century Get Rhythm Bloodshot Records
Dave Gleason Blue Side of the World Turn and Fade Wellowrn Records
Gary Stewart Out of Hand The Essential Gary Stewart BMG Entertainment
Bob Wills Brain Cloudy Blues The Essential Bob Wills Columbia
Eleven Hundred Springs Every Time I Get Close To You Country Jam Palo Duro Records
John Doe & The Sadies I Still Miss Someone Country Club Yep Roc
Beck and Emmylou Harris Sin City Return of the Greivous Angel, a tribute to Gram Parsons Almo
Wynn Stewart It’s Such A Pretty world today Swing West Vol. 1 Bakersfield Razor & Tie
Red Simpson I’m A Truck Swing West Vol. 1 Bakersfield Razor & Tie
Merle Haggard I Am What I Am I Am What I Am Vanguard
Homer Joy I’m Not Drinking Enough Someday It’ll Be Country First Stone Productions
Dwight Yoakam Long White Cadillac Just Looking for a Hit Reprise
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

